Guest
Reviews

We try our best to help our guests get the most out of their stay


And perhaps the best measure of our success is what previous visitors have to say about their experience in our house.

The following reviews have been published on the Internet by English-speaking guests who have stayed with us in recent years.

Thank you all for your kind words.

Reviews published in English

Really enjoyed our stay
Kath & John (Glasgow) 19/06/2017
A unique opportunity to stay in a large, rebuilt traditional adobe house in a peaceful but well located village close to El Burgo de Osma and the Rio Lobos Canyon, should not be missed. The accommodation is superbly crafted, very comfortable and with contemporary facilities. The owners, Steve and Enca, offered us various options of regional food and wine each evening and we highly recommend the delicious meals prepared by Enca. Steve is very knowledgeable about the local area providing us with help to plan ideal trips and both he and Enca created a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Overall, a wonderful place to stay - we'll be back!
(Sent by e-mail)


The place to stay for an outdoor vacation
Marta (San Diego, California) 07/04/2017
If you are looking for shopping, nightlife and trendy dining, this is NOT the place for you. However, if you wish to hike, fish, and generally enjoy the outdoors, this is the perfect place for you! We found this inn when looking for a quiet place where we could find good hiking and fishing, and were not disappointed. Our hosts, Steve and Enca gave wonderful suggestions on the "must-sees" in Soria province, so we had lots to do in addition to our fishing and hiking. The inn itself is beautiful and is indeed a reconstructed adobe building. Our room was comfortable and pretty, with heated floors which was great considering the chilly April weather. We opted to have dinner on the property each night that we were there. Enca is a fantastic cook, and we had delicious meals with wine chosen by Steve each night. My husband and I had a great stay and cannot recommend the Casa de Adobe enough!
(Publicado en tripadvisor.es)


Walking and so much more
Vanessa (Stockport) 02/05/2016
We chose Casa de Adobe for its proximity to the Canyon of Rio Lobos national park with its excellent opportunities for walking. What we got was so much better than we had even hoped for! A really warm welcome from Steve and Enca, detailed knowledge about the walking and the best historical sites to visit, and a beautifully restored place to stay. We stayed for a week full board, and on top of all this, they provided us with vegetarian, gluten free and low salt meals that were still varied and delicious.
(Published on tripadvisor.com)


Such a nice difference compared to the usual stuff
"migratorybird" (Vienna) 16/12/2015
We found this place while planning our trip from Madrid to central Spain and further north to Asturias. Seeing the pictures here and on their website is one thing, standing in front of the building and being welcome to step in, still has a different quality. The combination of traditional style and natural materials with modern amenities, including wi-fi and a stylish bathroom is breathtaking. Steve and Enca were pampering us to no end, with suggestions and tips where to go and what to look at, some history of this region and, last but not least, with breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is much more diverse than in many spanish places and you can voice your preferences. The major reason why we spent another 2 nights on our way back to Madrid was the option to have "Dinner by Enca", with a fixed price, 2 or 3 starters, a main course, and I'm pretty sure some sweet stuff, if you could manage - we couldn't. As it was quite cold in December, we usually flocked together next to the wood-burning oven for a couple of craft beers and a relaxing chat before moving to the dining area. Steve has a good selection of spanish wines to offer and to round out the perfect meals.
(Published on tripadvisor.com)


Looking to get away from the rat race?
Pauline (Exeter) 09/09/2015
Look no further than Casa de Adobe. Nestled in the back streets of the village of Valdemaluque this is a real gem. Paying hommage to its rural roots while shaking hands with modernity this lovingly restored rural home provides a haven of tranquility for those who want to get away from it all. Not far from to Canyon of the rio Lobos you can watch Griffon vultures soar effortlessly over the steep gorges in the evening sun. Travel 20 minutes in the opposite direction to Gormaz and you can walk among the ruins of this hilltop citadel, arguably the largest curtain walled defence in Europe, while stepping on roof tiles and pieces of broken potsherds from down the ages. Casa's proprietors, Steve and Enca provide a warm welcome. Steve is front of house and a source of knowledge on the local area. Enca provides meals that would put many top hotels to shame using locally sourced Spanish products. If you cannot relax here you should get some professional help. All in all there are not enough stars to rate this as far as I am concerned. This place is a great find and represents good value for money....they should put their prices up! I shall be looking to return at the first opportunity I get.
(Published on tripadvisor.com)


Perfect stay
Suzy (Surrey) 31/08/2015
Steve and Enca have taken 6 years to restored this beautiful rural house. They were warm and inviting, Steve so clearly loves his adopted country. He went out of his way to make our short stay as interesting as possible, he showed us around the village, other interesting old houses and explaining backgrounds and Spanish history. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean with excellent bathroom facilities. Enca cooked a delicious, beautifully presented dinner, breakfast with home-made yogurt and local fruits, cheese & ham. Next day we visited Canon del Rio Lobos, and enjoyed stunning walk accompanied by vultures. We would highly recommend.
(Published on tripadvisor.com)


Very relaxing
"Trickant" (Madrid) 06/08/2014
La Casa de Adobe is a sensitively restored rural house, using traditional materials and maintaining internal features that give it a sense of space and calm. From our comfortable room we had a view over fields to woods and the garden had plenty of bird life. There is also a nearby walk along the wooded banks of the nearby Ucero river. Valdamaluque is a small agricultural community well placed to visit this interesting area including Burgo de Osma and the impressive Cañon de Rio Lobos. Steve and Enca provided us with good evening meal served with a choice of local wines (Ribera del Duero) and made us feel totally at home as well as giving advice on visiting the area. A great place to get away and relax. Highly recommended!
(Published on tripadvisor.com)


Great place to explore Soria
"simonaccra" (Accra, Ghana) 31/07/2014
I was visiting friends who have a house in the village (seven staying, house full, so the Casa was recommended to me). A wonderful place to stay with heaps of character. A quiet village that is off the tourist routes (but only 2hrs from Madrid Airport), but a great place to explore Soria, be it visiting castles, the nearby national park, Roman ruins or just relaxing watching the slow pace of village life drift by. Very comfortable bedrooms, large living room, great breakfasts. Evening meals also offered, but as I was visiting friends I had lunch and dinner with them, although I am sure the food is is of the high standard of everything else. Welcoming and friendly owners. I couldn't have asked for more.
(Published on tripadvisor.com)


Perfect for visiting off-the-beaten-track gems
Diana (Austin, Texas) 15/04/2013
We needed a stop between Salamanca and Madrid--had no idea what we would find of interest. Casa Rural Adobe was well-rated and it didn't disappoint--lovely, unusual house halfway between Burgo de Osma and Canon del Rio Lobos. Their website alerted us to other places of interest and Steve's recommendations for must-see places nearby were perfect: Fortaleza de Gormaz, Calatanazor, La Fuentona and Tiermes. Be sure to be clear in your plans for breakfast and dinner--we weren't and there was some discomfort.
(Published on tripadvisor.com)

Reply by Steve:
We always go out of our way to help our guests get the most out of their stay. Diana, we said you could have your meals as and when it suited you, especially on the second day when you were the only guests in the house. If you weren't clear in your meal plans, it didn't matter to us in the least, we were quite happy to fit in with whatever you wanted. We don't stand on ceremony here, and we were certainly not put out. I can only think there was some kind of transatlantic communication problem, and it seems to me you misunderstood our willingness to oblige. I'm terribly sorry if you were made to feel uncomfortable.


Wonderful, peaceful break
"RatonCantabria" (Cantabria) 04/11/2012
We were looking for a place near Burgo de Osma and El Cañón del Río Lobos for a 3 night break, and the package that was offered here seemed a little too good to be true, 3 nights with dinner and breakfast for 310 Euros. Well it was true, and it was excellent!! It is the most beautifully and lovingly restored house with many many original features including the huge "chimney", and all wooden beams, really, how it looks on the website is how it actually is. Very cosy, underfloor heating (individually controlled in the bedrooms which was a real luxury), huge double showers, child-free, and good breakfasts and delicious original dinners cooked and served by Steve (who is English) and Enca, including the most wonderful sticky toffee pudding! The bedroom was cosy and comfortable, with good wifi throughout the building, and quiet (no cisterns or anything). The communal areas of the house were lovely and cosy too, especially the area around the log fire, which was lovely in the evening. The place is located right next to El Cañon del Rio Lobos for great walking, and both our hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and where to visit (take Steve's word for it, Soria city is not worth the hour drive!!). It's also only a 5-10 minute straight drive to Burgo de Osma, which was lovely too. We enjoyed having our meals at the house though (not something we'd normally do), as they made an effort for us to have something different available every night, and having our coffee round the fire was very relaxing. We fully intend to go back again, and would highly recommend it. Thanks Steve and Enca!
(Published on tripadvisor.com)


Highly recommended
Ray (Surrey) 12/08/2009
A group of 8 of us stayed for a few days in August and we found the standard of accommodation to be excellent. The building itself is fascinating, and don't be misled by the 'adobe' tag - the whole set up is done with great taste and even a degree of elegance. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet; breakfast was good with cereal and fruit; and our dinners were well prepared with fresh ingredients and were good value. The owners are very welcoming and can recommend places to visit. If you enjoy history and natural history there is plenty to see in the area: the local town of El Burgo de Osma is well worth a visit, as is the village of Calatanazor; El Canon de Rio Lobos is spectacular, particularly for bird-watching, and try to get to both Gormaz castle and the celtic-roman site at Tiermes. This is excellent walking and cycling country but you will need a car to reach it (about 2 hours from Madrid).
(Published on tripadvisor.com)



See all reviews published by Spanish guests since 2008